5 Owls Earn 2012 SELC All-Conference Recognition

May 03, 2012

By Tom Mudrak for KSU Lax

The Owls placed five players on all-conference teams this season. Midfielder Andrew Congleton and defenseman Tom Mudrak headlined the list, each being named 2nd Team All-SELC.

Midfielder Casey Newton and LSM Justin Griffith earned Honorable Mention All Conference for their respective positions. Mars Hill transfer Alex Gavilla was also named Honorable Mention All Conference for his work on the face-off X this season.

Five players ties the mark for the most All Conference selections the Owls have had on a team. The Owls also accomplished this feat in 2010.

Tom Mudrak and Andrew Congleton were both named to the 2012 SELC All-Tournament team for their play during the SELC Tournament.

All-SELC selections are nominated and voted on by coaches of the conference.

Kennesaw State All-Conference players since 2009

  • Scott Shulze – 1st Team 2009, 2010, 2011
  • Isom White – 1st Team 2010, 2011
  • Mark Tortorello – 2nd Team 2010
  • Zach Statham – 2nd Team 2010
  • Tom Mudrak – 1st Team 2010, 2011, 2nd Team 2012
  • Brad Jones – Honorable Mention 2011
  • Andrew Congleton – 2nd Team 2012
  • Casey Newton – Honorable Mention 2012
  • Justin Griffith – Honorable Mention 2012
  • Alex Gavilla – Honorable Mention 2012

Full 2012 SELC All-Conference roster are available from the MCLA.