KSU Lacrosse Team Wins Sportsmanship Award

February 10, 2011

This article is originally from 11 Alive News.

By Beth Sawicki

KENNESAW, GA -- Kennesaw State University's club sports men's lacrosse team has won the 2010 James "Ace" Adams Sportsmanship Award for District 5.

Head coach Ken Byers accepted the award at the 2011 Georgia Lacrosse Foundation Awards Dinner in January.

"Coach Ken Byers' Fighting Owls bring a high level of intensity and excitement to every game," said Jerome Ratchford, KSU's vice president for student success. "This award is a tremendous honor and reflects well on both KSU's club student-athletes and their volunteer coaches who hold fast to the ideals of rugged play combined with the utmost in sportsmanship exemplified in the national intercollegiate lacrosse program."

The annual award is presented by the US Lacrosse College Officials to schools with players, coaches, fan and administrators who exhibit a certain level of sportsmanship.

"Everyone on campus is proud of the three dozen players and coaches on KSU's club sports men's lacrosse team for all they have accomplished in the past few years," said Laura St. Onge, collegiate club sports director at KSU.

US Lacrosse Awards Committee Chairman Chuck Cohen noted that the KSU team stood out in its district.

"This is an honor that I'm sure the KSU team is excited to receive," he said.

The award is named for former Army and University of Virginia lacrosse coach James "Ace" Adams. A National Lacrosse Hall of Fame member, Adams and his teams were known for displaying exceptional character both on and off the field.